Sunday, September 13, 2009

Book Review: Evernight

Title: Evernight
Series: The Evernight Series
Author: Claudia Gray
Published: 2008

About the book:
When the story begins in Evernight, Bianca has just left the small town where she's spent her whole life. She's a new student at Evernight Academy, a creepily Gothic boarding school where her classmates are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn't fit in.

Then she meets Lucas, another loner, who seems fiercely determined not to be the "Evernight type." There's a connection between Bianca and Lucas that can't be denied. She would risk anything to be with him — but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart... and to make Bianca question everything she's ever believed to be true.

thoughts: This book was full of mystery; what is the boarding school hiding? Why are all the students acting so weird? And, most important of all, what is Bianca and Lucas hiding from each other?

About halfway through the book there is a HUGE twist, and I was like
whaaat? I did NOT see that coming. And the twist wasn't very well done. I would have liked to read some clues before the twist, something that made you go " A-ha, that's why that person did/said that, and that's why that person was reacting that way" instead it was built up like this. "And by the way, this is the way it is. Change everything you thought and read so far to the total opposite."
I felt like ther was two different books - one
before, and one after the plot twist - and they didn't fit very well together .

I really liked the ending of the book though, it was full of suspense, romance and action. Bianca ended up in a situation where she had to choose between Lucas - her love - and her parents and their believs, and she solves the situation very bravely, and trustes her inner voice.

This book didn't blow my mind, but it was good. The twist in the middle of the book was annoying though, it wasn't well written at all, but other than that the book was well worth reading, and it leaves you wondering about what's going to happen in the next book in the series.

The second book in the Evernight Series, Stargazer, was published in March 2009. There will be two more books published in this series; Hourglass and Afterlife.

Rating: 3,5 of 5
Fan(g) Girl

0 kommentarer: